In some countries, more and more people are deciding to live alone. Do you see it as a positive or negative trend?

When it comes to the current trend of living alone there is usually a growing concern about various effects of it. It is complex to decide whether this tendency has more positive or more negative consequences, likewise there probably should be an idea that for some people solo-living can bring more advantages in comparison with another group of people. The statement above will be elaborated in this essay.

First and foremost, one crucial aspect that cannot be overlooked is the fact that living alone can be very essential and definitely much more effortless for women than live with a family or with a partner. To put it clearly, it is vital to mention that most of household labour usually are in women’s sphere of responsibility even in western modern societies. Statistics say that an average woman who lives with her male partner spends three times as much on household chores, meanwhile her partner does the bare minimum. As a result of it, solo-living can provide more leisure time for women which they might divide among their hobbies, career or social contacts. Nonetheless, social studies claimed that living alone for men is not as advantageous as for another sex.

Another interesting perspective on this issue can be contributed to a lack of social contacts that men who live alone can experience. The key reason for it could be found in the emotional sphere and gender stereotypes around it, which diminish men’s ability to build strong links with friends and families. As a consequence of low-level social skills performed by guys, some people who are living with no partner or relatives nearby, may suffer from depression and other mental illnesses. It has been proven by current research which demonstrates that the level of happiness and general satisfaction of the life among lonely men was crucially lower than that among lonely women. As a result, independent living for males probably brings many more disadvantages.

To sum up, it is vital to highlight that choice which people make about their lives are deeply personal and even if science insists on particular conclusions it still can be absolutely unfamiliar for one unique existence.