In some countries, students live at home with their family while they study at university, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in some countries students choose to remain with their relatives during their university years whereas in other countries students more commonly leave their hometown for another city. There are several reasons why I believe that studying away from home has more advantages than drawbacks.

Firstly, we need to consider the fact that studying at another city gives a chance for students to explore themselves in many ways. One of the biggest changes they usually experience once they start their journey at a remote place is independence.Living independence means that they will be responsible for much more things than they used to, including clothing, accommodation, health and even finacial well-being.Having a sense of responsibility helps them grow as more alert and punctual individuals, this will have an important impact to their studies as well as their future career.Moreover, living away from home provides students an evironment conducive to academic focus and achievements. Without the distractions of home, such familial obligations and houshold chores, students can dedicate more time and energy to their studies, this helps with improving academic performances and deeper understanding of course material.

However the joy and benefit of spending university life away from home sometimes comes at a considerable price.Students, especially those who have never expeirenced living apart from their families, struggle getting accustomed to the new phase of their lives. Homsickness and loneliness are commonly experienced by such students and may lead to anxiety in which return can result in poor concentration on their daily lives and overall academic performance.

In conclusion, choosing to study at another city can be both advantageous and distressful. In my opinion the numerous merits that it offers certainly outweighs its temporary downsides.