In some countries, students live at home with their family while they study at university, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

In several countries students may live at home during their studying, although in other countries students must leave their hometown due to the university location. I think, living away from home have some pros and cons, which I will discuss further, but in my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh advantages, because the cost of living is extremely high and not every family can afford it.

First of all, the main benefit of living at home is familiar surroundings, that gives young person more emotional stability and confidence. It is incredibly important during the first year of education as it is the most stressful period due to significant number of unknown subjects and strangers.

The second crucial point is free accommodation, so there is not required to move from hometown to another one and live in a rented flat. Moreover, renting takes a major part of expenses and staying at home will save a lot of money.

Also, it is important to add, that potential neighbours are extremely important factor. For example, a good relationship brings a lot of positive moments in student’ life, while negative contacts creates just constant irritation and tiredness.

I think, there are a lot of advantages in home staying while study. It provides people more confidence in future, stable conditions and convenient atmosphere.