In some countries, students live at home with their family while they study at university, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

It’s a fact that in some countries university student’s have to leave their hometown and start a new life, but in other countries student’s stay in the same city. There are several reasons why I consider studying away from home has more advantages.

Firstly, as everyone knows, starting a new life anywhere it’s hard and it gets harder when you are young without any experience, just by yourself. The positive side of this reality it’s the independence that the student develop and the sense of responsability. Take care of yourself, start paying bills, the rent, do the laundry and start making your own food may be something to think twice before take the decision to live alone.

Another advantage of studying away from home is that students can develop a higher network because as they can organice and take decisions by themselves, they get more time to interact and make more friends.

On the other hand, it’s a reality that homesick and loneliness may be the strongest reason why people don’t want to leave their family when starting university. It’s difficult for some people to face the fact that their parents won’t be waiting for them at home and it may cause depression or anxiety. These issues are more common nowadays, so many people have to lead with that, but eventually they find a safe place to feel comfortable with.

To sum up, taking the decision to leave hometown to start a new university life it’s a shortcut of an adult life, and will absolutely help to develop habilities and skills that actually help in real world.