In some countries, students live at home with their family while they study at university, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some universities around the world have allowed their students to study from home which might offer several benefits both for students of the university itself. While some people argue that this phenomenon brings many advantages, I contend that living in a city far from home offers more benefits for several reasons.

It could be argued that living at home with family when studying at a university has several advantages. First of all, it is cheaper than living outside of the home, due to assistance from parents, such as room and food. Compared to living outside of the home which might be expensive, because students have to pay for a rent house, and food. Secondly, living in a home with family would avoid distractions from friends or other things that might distract students from learning. Moreover, parents can also control their children more easily, preventing them from involving in negative aspects, such as drugs.

However, living far from family while studying at a university offers many benefits. First and foremost, even though there is a challenge of living costs, students could find a side job in the city where they study which will help them to pay the cost of rent house, and food. Additionally, having work experience will increase students’ possibility of getting better jobs quickly after graduation and enhance their social skills and work connections. Moreover, living outside the home would foster student’s independence as they can live without the assistance of their parents. For example, many university students who live outside their families can fulfill their own needs by getting a scholarship or even establishing their own businesses.

In conclusion, although living with family might be inexpensive and students are well-controlled by their parents, living alone offers more valuable benefits. It allows students to find a job which helps them to fulfill their needs and makes them become more independent.