In some countries, students live at home with their family while they study at university, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

After graduating from high school, there are a range of universities for students to apply to. Regarding university preferences, some high school graduates opt for closer options, whereas others move away from their families to study further afield. While I acknowledge some potential drawbacks of attending a faraway university, its prepossessing benefits should not be overlooked.

On the one hand, living autonomously when in tertiary education may result in mental-related issues. To elaborate, students studying in another city or country may experience hardships regarding social interaction and finance. This is mostly because back at home, they have their parents to provide counsel and financial backing, but living away from home is the opposite experience, which requires students to develop their social network from the start and live more independently. In the worst-case scenario where the feeling of homesickness is not properly addressed, it may eventually lead to stress and depression.

On the other hand, independence and self-discipline are two noteworthy upsides of attending tertiary education in a different area. Firstly, being on their own means that people need to learn to make autonomous decisions as well as resort to working to support themselves financially. Undeniably, these are indispensable preparations for adulthood for students as they can become more resolute, responsible, and mature. Additionally, no longer having parents aside motivates youngsters to become more disciplined were they to achieve success. This is because constant external reminders may make students reliant and unproductive without their parents. Therefore, the lack of supervision from folks might be beneficial to individuals with clear goals and determination as they can gradually develop self-discipline and a source of internal motivation to propel them toward their targets.

All things considered, although studying in a far-flung university has both upsides and downsides, it is apparent that the former outweighs the latter in terms of personal growth. Nevertheless, students should carefully consider both sides and prepare thoroughly to avert any problems that arise when living away from family while in university.