In some countries, students pay their college or university fees, while in some others, the government pays for them. Do you think the advantages that the government pays the money outweigh the disadvantages?

Several countries have the sponsor policies of academic costs associated with students studying college or university rather than those who pay for their study in some countries. This essay will explore both perspectives and elucidate why I believe the demerits that the government expends the fees outweigh their merits.

On the one hand, I acknowledge that the government’s expenditures for pupils’ costs are positive contributions. Firstly, governmental sponsorship would help students not being concerned about financial issues. Regarding penniless pupils, expenditures for daily life are also a significant problem because of the amount of money provided by their families, so if they receive academic sponsor resources, they will be more comfortable about their study path compared to finding jobs to improve their financial state. Secondly, the freedom to study helps students to explore different disciplines easily. They are not restricted to broaden their knowledge in college and university due to the unlimited academic subjects which have been paid by the authority.

On the other hand, I argue that these advantages will hinder students’ motivation. First and foremost, free academic costs have a negative effect on the studying attitude of pupils. Typically, the students receiving an enormous sponsorship will not realize the importance of effort and become irresponsible due to a sustainable finance. Thanks to this, the studying achievement will dramatically decrease because of the misguided investment of the government. Furthermore, competing to gain scholarships is a great way to promote students’ progress. For instance, in my university, there are infinite awards for students who have a noticeable score in each semester because this is not only a worthwhile accomplishment to our effort, but also is the sheer motivation to dedicate our wit for university’s development.

In conclusion, despite the clear advantages contributing to pupils’ lives and studying ability, there remain critical drawbacks regarding the consciousness and promotion of students in their way.