In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of teaching children at home?

Nowadays, in many countries, an increasing amount of parents are prefering education at home for their children instead of schools. Although there are several advantages for this, disadvantages far outweight them.

Turning to the upsides, there are some of them. First of all, home-education can be useful for youth because it might be more convenient for them. While other students are spending their time and energy to go to schools, students studying at home can save their time. Also, there is an advantage for some students that have bad communication skills or have bad relationships with their peers and classmates. For them, staying at home can be more comfortable or even safer, if they experience the acts of bullying or bad attitude from their classmates. Therefore, young people studying at home might have more comfortable conditions for education compared to their schools, and also, parental supervision, which is crucial for children’s discipline.

However, downsides can be worse in some cases. Firstly, students on home education can have problems with communication in the future. Schools play an important role in developing student’s comunication skills, but with home education, there will be lack of that. Nontheless, chindren will have issues with depth understanding of the subjects. Online or home education cannot fully replace the impact of teachers on youngster’s productivity. Teachers also are crucial in development of student’s ability to gain information and understand that. Furthermore, students may have some troubles not only with lack of communication and depth understanding, but also with discipline. Parents’ supervision can be insufficient on developing discipline and studying habits. Thus, children should go to schools, to be developed enough as their peers.

To summarize, home education can provide comfortable conditions for children to study, but also can be harmful because of lacked communication, depth understanding and discipline.