In some countries, there is a trend for families to only have one child now. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In some countries, more and more people are choosing to stay child free. This is happening due to economic pressure, which makes having children more difficult. I think it is a negative development because of the population decline.

Nowadays some people think having children is too costly and difficult responsibility wise. This is because in the modern economy it is much more expensive to afford having a child. To fully nurture and support a child, a lot of parents are both at work, which makes caring for a child even more troublesome. That is why rather than bearing a responsibility, a soaring number of people choose not to have a child unless they can fully afford it and spend enough personal time with them. For example, because of the unstable economic situation in Russia, it has been noted that several married couples refuse to have a baby because of the financial difficulties.

This phenomenon is a negative development because of the population decline problem. With more people choosing to stay childfree, the population gap between the new and older generation is becoming more and more noticeable. In effect, this could lead to a lack of workforce in the future, which is a dangerous development for economy in general. For example, it has been stated that in South Korea there are significantly less younger generation people compared to older generations. The country is having problems resolving this problem, which adds to the fact that this is an important and relevant issue in the modern world.

In conclusion, some people choose not to have children because they are not confident enough to financially afford it. This is definitely a negative development because of the declining population rate.