In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that these days many universities have students from all over the country whether from their city or not. So, some people think that studying in a different city is a good option, while others believe that studying in the city where they live is better. This essay will discuss both sides and will draw my personal conclusion.

on the one hand, at this moment great number of students prefer to study at university in another city to make new friends and learn how to be independent. For instance, I am from Damanhour City but I studied at Alexandria University and lived there for 5 years in a rented house. There I learned how to cook, clean, learned how to treat strangers in different situations. Furthermore, I learned the crucial thing is how to manage my time between studying and other life requirements. So that’s why some think that studying far from your town is important.

on the other hand, studying in the same city where students live is a comfortable choice as they do not have to do additional tasks besides studying like cleaning or cooking. In addition, they do not pay rent for another apartment. For example, when the students return to their homes every day from their university, they find someone to care about them in case of illness. To illustrate, my fiance studies at university in another city but she travels every day from and to her town, last month she felt pain in her back then rapidly her father took her to the hospital and rescued her, I think if she was alone, she could not go to the doctor in time. This proves clearly that staying with family is an advantage.

In conclusion, after a careful analysis of both points of view, I believe that studying in a city with family is the best choice, as a student I need someone to take care of me particularly to have time to study at the same time I can be independent without expatriation.