In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In some countries university students attend university in cities where they reside with their parents while in other countries students attend universities in other cities far from their homes. While one may argue that there are some disadvantages while living away from home but I strongly feel that the advantages of living away from home outweighs the disadvantages.

One important skill that students learn and develop is to be self-reliant. This increases their ability to take responsibilities for themselves instead of relying on their parents. For example at home students might never have to do laundary as it may be done by their parents or by maid but when outside they have to do it by themselves. Another advantage of living away from home is that it leads to personal growth of students as they are not in their comfort zone. They have to learn to rely on themselves to explore, navigate and overcome several challenges. Moreover, being in another city also leads to broadening of one’s horizon as it leads to interactions with other fellow students who come from different backgrounds and have different life experiences. For example it may be that in another city most families belong to lower middle class while we come from higher middle class society. Intractions with such students can teach us to respect money and being grateful for everything that we have.

One may say that living away from home leads to pain as we miss our family and in some cases can lead students to withdraw inwards and not socialize with others. But doing so will not change reality that one day we have to leave our homes for job opportunities. For example in my country most of job opportunities are in handful of cities which makes travellig to other cities a common phenomenon.

In the end we can conclude that the thought of leaving our home and family initlally terrifies students but with time things improve and wwe make friends wo share the same pain as us and make several beautiful memories with them and even grow with them.