In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

It is common for university students to stay at home with their families in some countries, but in other nations students prefer universities located in some other cities rather tha their own. Living away from home whilist studying at university comes with both advantages and disadvantages and I believe the benefits outweigh the demerits.

When students live far from home while they are attending college they learn to become independent. Living far from home comes with heaps of responsibilities and hardships that help to shape an individual life. Students have to take care of their home and studies parallely when they are alone. They learn to become more responsible by doing their own chores like cooking and cleaning. It also helps students to network with others and expand their social circle. Some may find living alone difficult but the difficulties faced will help to shape their career and future.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to living alone during the period of college. Living far from family may be discomforting to some individuals and they might suffer from homesickness. Additionally, there is an element of fear whenever the student gets sick and has noone beside him. Students also loose the comfort of having home made meals and helping hand when they are alone. Living alone also consumes more time in chores and student may get less time for studies.

University time is a real opportunity to explore oneself and hence it is very benefitial to leave the comfort of home and exploring other cities during this time.