In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In some countries, university students live at home with their relatives while they study, whereas in other nations students attend university abroad or away from their hometown.

I personally think that the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages.

Firstly, living away is life-changing. In fact, students usually miss the delicious hot dishes that their mom cooks because they are now obligated to try and prepare something to eat alone or eat from a restaurant or just from a grocery store. Secondly, students are not quite used to money management, taking care of the house, nor keeping it safe. As a consequence, they end up short on money and they end up without food. Let’s take as an example undergraduate students who might sometimes forget to close the dorm’s door or drop inattentively their money and end up hungry.

But living away from hometown is still an advantage. Students will surely become independent and jump into the phase of adulthood as they are going to take part-time jobs to gain money and manage it for the rest of the month, meanwhile managing their studies to avoid being excluded from their classes. Added to that, a new mindset is going to be set as soon as they step into the house they are going to live in, mainly because taking care of the chores and always keeping an eye on maintaining the house to avoid paying additional fees to fix the broken parts, as an example, leaks in the bathroom, gas leaks, or broken light bulbs.

In conclusion, I believe that studying away from hometown is a privilege to step into early adulthood and change.