In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

It is true that some college students choose to study in their hometown near their families, while others prefer to study abroad. I believe studying away from home has more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, some people can not afford the expenses of studying outside of their city. Another issue is that a lot of the learners sometimes feel homesick, and that can be a reason affecting their grades. Being close to family members and relatives can give them the emotional support that they need, which would be crucial for them in their hard times.

On the other hand, studying away from home also has so many benefits. Most students that attend college in a foreign country or a different city tend to choose to stay on campus, which is, in my opinion, the best place to stay during university. Firstly, it is so easy to make new friends and have unique experiences there, in addition to getting exposed to a wide range of cultural backgrounds. Secondly, studying abroad is a great way to get out of your comfort zone. Studies show that pupils who tend to stay in their comfort zone are more likely to procrastinate and not get their work done by their due deadlines. Finally, students will be confronted with a very competitive environment, which will apply some positive pressure on them, and help them boost their academic performance.

In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of attending university in another city outweigh the disadvantages.