In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high schools and starting universities studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, it is very common among high school graduates to take a gap year before entering university. Some might say that it brings a lot of disadvantages, while others think otherwise. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of the argument, focusing on how this decision will be beneficial for one’s future if it is planned correctly, rather than having a significant negative impact.

On the one hand, a gap year can help young people become mature and in their personal growth. During this time, many graduates become independent, confident, and responsible. Traveling to foreign countries or working in an environment filled with skilled adults can help them develop new skills and experiences. Particularly, traveling can broaden individuals’ knowledge about the culture, languages, and lifestyles of people in a certain country. Furthermore, working has a wide range of benefits as well. For instance, earning money, learning to be responsible, and gaining real work experience at a young age will be very advantageous in the future when applying to a competitive workplace.

On the other hand, one of the major risks is losing academic momentum. Many individuals find it difficult to return to the studying ethic, for example, complex subjects like mathematics require constant practice, and consequently, after being away for twelve months, students often struggle with regaining their academic skills. Some might decide to never pursue a higher education after finding a steady workplace with a stable salary. Additionally, travelling to different countries can create significant financial strains within the family.

In conclusion, taking a gap can be incredibly valuable for personal growth and independence, but only if it is planned accurately. Without a thoughtful plan, the year could be wasted