In some countries,more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people reach this?

It is true that in modern society learning about the history of the house or building is becoming more common. There are various possible causes for this and even more ways to research it.

In my opinion, there are several reasons for increasing interest in finding out about the background of your home. Firstly, in today’s world of globalization people easily change apartments, cities and even countries. It could create a feeling of discrepancy with the past and unearthing the story of the walls you live in can form an illusion of stability and inclusion. Secondly, in the era of social media many content creators are looking for entertaining ways to attract attention and discovering that in your flat was committed a murder could be one of them. Finally, due to widespread demolition of buildings citizens are searching for justifications to preserve homes they grew up in or even if they still reside in them.

Moreover, there are numerous methods to uncover the tales behind these worn walls. One of them is to visit local city archive in order to find significant information regarding someone’s dwelling. Usually there are stored documents about major historical events. Additionally, people can surf the internet for the data. In most cases the books from archives are digitalized, more organized and easier to access. Furthermore, elderly neighbors and family members who lived there for a long time could have some curious facts about what happened in the house many years ago.

In conclusion, the tendencies to explore the history of the house or building a person lives in spreads rapidly. More and more people become invested in it and we as a community should preserve knowledge about historic buildings because they provide cultural identity and enriches our life.