In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantage and disadvantage of giving children this message.

In several cultures, parents are accustomed to tell their offspring that they can accomplish anything as long as they work hard.I believe there is nothing wrong in encouraging children to be a hardworker and to have confidence in what they do. However, overconfident can often make children feel discouraged if their dreams don’t come true.

First of all, it is undeniably true that parents are the biggest support system a kid could have. It is the parent’s prime goal to encourage their children to do something in accordance to their passions. For example, a kid wants to try dancing as a hobby, the parent should sign up their child to dancing classes. It is a common understanding that as guardians, parents should encourage children to work hard. Moreover, It is generally known that perseverance is the key to success. In my opinion, telling children they should work hard on any occasion is ideal to mold a great personality at a young age.

However, some people would argue that many things require gift or even luck. Therefore, sometimes working hard is merely not enough to achieve something. Hence, many children that experienced defeat often felt miserable. Consequently, many younger kids could be angry or throw a tantrum. I believe parents should give their children a proper understanding that not everything can go according to plan, and feeling sad is fairly common. By giving the right lecture about human emotions, I genuinely believe that children will not feel defeated or discouraged and willing to try again in the future.

In conclusion, parents from all over the world often tell their children to try hard to accomplish something they want. Generally, it is the parent’s duty to be the prime system of support for their offspring. Therefore, many parents thought encouraging their kids to work hard to be able to succeed. However, if the kids already gave their best effort and still does not succeed, they can feel extremely discouraged and angry. I believe there should be a balance between telling kids they should have put their best effort while giving them understanding about not able to get what they want.