In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantage and disadvantage of giving children this message.

In some countries, children are often given the message that as long as they put in sufficient effort, they have the ability to accomplish anything. Although there are positive effects of encouraging kids in this aspect such as higher self- confidence and positive mindset, this notion also can create some negative impacts on them.

On the plus side,there are many advantages to this message. Boosting children’ confidence by telling them everything is achievable depending on how hard they work can contribute to them in the later stage of life. For example, they would have enough courage to try different things even though they face hurdles during the process. Additionally, this can create a positive mindset about themselves by fostering a “ can-do” attitude which enables children to approach challenges with courage and optimism rather than fear.

However, relying on hard work to be successful in life may cause some problems. Sometimes no matter how much they try, they cannot achieve their goals because of external factors. Consequently, they may develop a fear of failure and unrealistic expectations which can hinder risk-taking and limit their willingness to explore new opportunities. Putting so much effort on something may also lead them to stick a certain path rather than discovering new ones. Lastly, while putting in so much effort and time to complete a task or reach a goal, children may feel themselves overwhelmed and burn out because of the stress and pressure.

To sum up, instilling a sense of self-efficacy and fostering a growth mindset to children through positive reinforcement may have undesirable consequences such as anxiety about being unsuccessful or impractical anticipations.