In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

In many societies, youngsters are taught that if they work hard towards a goal, they can definitely accomplish it. I firmly believe that the advantages of this teaching outweigh the disadvantages it can bring for the children because it creates a positive environment of growth for the youth when guided properly.

The most compelling reason for this message to be beneficial for the youngsters is that it allows the child to dream and creates an atmosphere that bolsters the self-confidence of the individual. Moreover, the teaching that ‘one can achieve anything through hard work’ is a sign of good and supportive parenting as it will ensure that kids will give their everything to achieve a goal. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo came from a poor financial background but with consistent hard work and resilience during tough times, he is now one of the wealthiest sportspeople in the world. As a result of positive parenting and good teaching one can achieve greater heights.

On the other hand, this message can have some significant downsides as it induces children with quixotic goals and creates unrealistic expectations among the youngsters, which, if not fulfilled, can initiate emotional gaps and a sense of self-doubt among the children. For instance, a child belonging to a family with a significantly poor financial background won’t be able to pursue an academic degree at a top institution, despite working hard to get selected for the program. However, guiding and advising youngsters about the message while also considering the circumstances can bear more fruit than harm, and hence, the teaching still poses a significant merit for the youth.

In conclusion, while the teaching can instigate some impractical expectations and vision, it can also improve self-confidence and motivation considerably among the children under proper guidance. It is evident that the merits certainly outweigh the possible demerits when the message is controlled and guided responsibly. Going forward, adults should recognize the proper way to introduce this life lesson to the children so that they do not succumb to unrealistic goals.