In some societies, obesity is regarded as a major problem. Some people believe that junk food advertising is largely to blame for this problem and should be banned. However, others feel that junk food advertising does not contribute to the problem of obesity and should not be banned. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Obesity is regarded as a serious problem across many countries. Whilst some individuals agree that junk food advertising does not lead to the problem of obesity, I believe it can lead to some major health problems and should be banned because it is extremely attention-grabbing, provoking people to consume that food.

Individuals, especially the younger generations, are becoming increasingly aware of their consumption choices, and such advertisements do not influence them. The increased access to the internet and information has made them aware of the side effects and diseases that can occur from consuming fatty foods. For example, Germany has seen a surge in teenagers subscribing to gym and nutritionist options, which proves they not only stay physically fit but also maintain a balanced diet. However, I do believe that such campaigns should be banned because the group of self-aware people is still very small.

These days, junk food advertising has become very eye-catching and immediately garners attention. Advertising companies intentionally use colors and visuals that psychologically appeal to a person’s appetite, thus luring them into purchasing the product. Billboards are strategically placed so that passersby can have a good glance at them. For instance, an ad run by a very popular fast-food chain during the halftime show grabbed significant attention, leading the burger displayed to be sold out across all branches in the country within a few hours. Therefore, I strongly believe that advertisements contribute to the rising problem of obesity.

In conclusion, although society is becoming increasingly self-aware of health, I believe the attention-grabbing nature of advertisements does attract people into consuming junk food.