In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Agriculture in today’s world has seen numerous advancements both in technology wise as well as mechanical wise. Scarcity of food around the world is still prominent while hunger prevails in most parts of the globe.This essay gives an insight about a few factors that contribute to prevailing hunger despite advancements and ways to overcome those problems.

The major reason being that agriculture as a business is still not a profitable sector when compared to other jobs.Many peasants who practise agriculture are majorly affected by their turnover for years as there is no proper structure for selling their crops for reasonable price to a vendor.For instance, a vendor collects the end product from farmer and sell to customer,the profit of selling is not equally distributed among both parties where the vendor takes up major share.The farmers face lots of insecurities be it their property or family,as they fear about getting an insurance from bank thinking that they could not pay back.The reason for such problem is improper government policies and rules.Even though there are lot of technological advancements in field of farming,most of peasants doesn’t have the knowledge about those advancements,which curb them from the usage of those technologies.

Farmers should be given the authority of deciding the prices and the agreement between both should be agreement based on a fixed fair price.Government policies benefiting farmers are in action but most of them are not followed properly,the interest rates for agricultural loan should be made minimum while that rate should be common for both private and government banks.Steps can be taken to inculcate knowledge to farmers about new upgradation in the field and also the market situation.