In the advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is common wisdom that high-sugar food can lead to many serious health issues, and it happens that manufactured food and beverages contain high levels of sugar. Some people propose that increasing the price of sugary products can discourage people from overconsuming them. While this idea is a competent measure to prevent sugar-related health problems, there are better solutions to be taken.

Examining the first approach, it is worth noticing that sugary products tend to be cheap. Take the example of a manufactured lemon juice can containing higher sugar levels, which can cost about half the price of a freshly made one. Therefore, it is understandable why many people favor the former over healthier but more expensive options. Should high-sugar foods and beverages be implemented with a higher tax, it would deter people’s incentives from buying them. However, I argue that this method does not solve the overconsumption of sugary products in a way that is practical for everyone, especially given how low-income consumers could suffer immensely.

Meanwhile, alternatives, such as making healthy food more available and affordable, are a more promising solution. Specifically, manufacturers can reduce the sugar component in their products while including the recommended intake on the products’ labels. In addition, governments can implement a lower tax on less sugary processed food and beverages to encourage businesses to create healthier food choices. Another long-term solution is to promote general awareness of the harmful impacts of consuming too much sugar. For example, having people participate in talk shows or campaigns can encourage them to be more mindful of their food choices.

In conclusion, while raising the prices for sugary products can reduce sugar consumption, other proposals, namely promoting healthy food and increasing people’s awareness, can generate more effective outcomes.