In the advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, manufacturing and construction companies convey the idea that they are always producing and selling new products and in their advertisement. There are several reasons why they do so, for example increasing volume of sales, keeping up with competitor and changing consumer behavior. In this essay, I will comprehensively shed light on the this trend and indicate why I think that this is a adverse development, which leads to landfilling, the depletion of natural resources and anxiety among people.

To begin with, there are three main reasons why businesses do so. The first one is that changing consumer behavior can be regarded as a root cause of this development. To explain, these days, most people want to purchase the latest products, such as electronic gadgets, clothes or vehicles. The second one is that they want to sell products substantially by telling new of products. For example, in my country, there are exorbitant amount of advertisements on TV which are telling this kind of words. Lastly, they have to keep up with other competitors in the cut-throat competitions.

In my opinion, this development causes several detrimental outcomes. The most adverse effect of this is landfilling, potentially leading to cascading effect. To illustrate, landfilling brings about several adverse impacts on environment, such as degradation of soil, the loss of natural habitat and contamination of underground water reservoirs. The second detrimental effect is the depletion of natural resources. Finally, this trend brings about people to emerge anxiety, which new commodities will be usually more expensive than older one. Additionally, advertisement fatigue has developed among many people, which they will no longer pay attention them.

In conclusion, while this development can help companies to increase the volume of sales, they should not forget that this causes several environmental problems. Therefore, I think that this trend is absolutely detrimental.