In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

All types of transports are going to be driverless in the future and the only humans in the cars would be the passengers. Some people argue that it can make our life easier, while others think that it can have a bunch of problems. In my point of view the benefits of driverless cars outweighs the drawbacks.

One major disadvantage of the driverless cars are the taxi drivers. The number of them will roughly reduce, because there will be no need. A massive amount of individuals will start to lose their jobs and it can cause a very negative effect on the economy. Secondly, the confidence of the people. More and more humans will have the issues to trust the robots, because they have to entrust their lives to them. However, by further development that problem will be solved and people will start to use driverless cars more and more.

On the other hand, the most significant advantage is safety. Research has shown that car accidents are more common when the driver is human rather than robot. If the whole transportation system becomes driverless, the traffic will become more secure, so the consequences caused by car crashes will diminish. Another benefit of driverless cars is the availability for all age groups. For example, if there is a family who has a school aged child, they do not have to worry about the transportation, because cars will not need drivers. These two advantages outweigh the drawbacks of driverless cars.

Overall, although people will continue to worry about the security, the further development will bring some new features which will enhance the level of the safety.