In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? why do you think some people might no be happy to give up using cash?

In the upcoming years, paying with cash will no longer be an option. Completing transactions using a credit card or phone application will prevail. In my opinion, this shift is inevitable because paying online is more convenient for customers and profitable for sellers. However, not everyone is going to accept this development since it reduces human interactions with each other.

Using cash will become a burden as technological advancements guarantee a more convenient method of payment. In this ever-evolving world, many companies work hard to innovate their services to ensure a better shopping experience. For example, Amazon has just announced the “just walk out” feature, which will allow the buyer to merely pick the products and leave. As for the payment, it will be handled automatically through an application. Hence, many people will enjoy shopping in those stores without worrying about waiting in long queues to pay with cash. Furthermore, this cashierless technology can reduce labour costs since no workers will be needed. As a result, many companies will become wealthier and financially stable.

Although cashierless stores bring about many benefits, some people may become unhappy about the status quo because it can exacerbate their social isolation. Many individuals work remotely from home, which means they spend most of their time alone. Shopping is often where those people have a chance to interact with shopkeepers. For example, many people visit Starbucks coffee shops because they may feel connected to the barista who offers them a smile and usually remembers their favourite beverage. Undoubtedly, the rise of cashierless stores is detrimental for the individuals who suffer from loneliness.

As highlighted above, as cashierless technology matures, all businesses will adopt it. This improves the overall satisfaction of customers and leads to more money generation for businesses. Nonetheless, it may strengthen people’s feelings of isolation.