In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Several decades ago, knowledge was mainly stored in books but today people rely on the internet to store information. While there are some drawbacks to this, they are outweighed by the benefits.

One disadvantage of storing books and information online is there is a risk of viruses. If a book or file is affected with a virus, it will be difficult or impossible to use it. This can not only prevent people from gaining important knowledge but it can also create problems for people’s devices. Reliability is another issue. By this I mean, information stored online can be easily changed and this can lead to misinformation. One notable example is Wikipedia – a website that provides a huge source of information. This website allows its users to edit information and as a result of this, there is a great deal of false information.

In my opinion, however, the positives of storing information and knowledge on the internet are more significant. One major advantage is information becomes more accessible. This means that anyone with the internet access can use a countless number of books, which is not possible with traditional physical books. Another convenience of storing knowledge online is there will no limit to how many books or how much information people can use. While people seek knowledge in conventional ways , such as by visiting libraries and reading newspapers and magazines, it is not always possible to find what they search. However, using the internet can help people to access any information they want.

In conclusion, there are some downsides to storing knowledge online, such as the risk of viruses and reliability issues. However, these are not as significant as the advantages, which include easy and unlimited access to information.