In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the amount of information in the Internet has increased due to the fact that most of the data contained in books transferred to the Internet. This trend has both benefits and drawbacks but it seems to me that its advantages overshadow its disadvantages.

(On the one hand) From one point of view, having all the knowledge in one platform has several upsides. First of all, one of the major advantages of the internet is its accessibility. Individuals are able to make use of this platform whenever and wherever they desire for free with a few clicks. For instance, it is a common case to see people watching videos or reading electronic books while sitting on the underground or on the transports in general. Additionally, electronic books are more environmentally-friendly rather than paper-based ones. By uploading all the data that was in books, we are reducing the quantity of paper produced every year, which allows us to significantly affect the deforestation. Furthermore, one of the key features of the Internet is an interactive learning through entertaining contents such as videos and quizzes. Nowadays most children, for example, as a result of using diverse websites are gaining comprehension of variety spheres of life.

(On the other hand) From another point of view, like everything in the world has its negatives, so do this trend. To begin with, any information written there sometimes is occured to be inaccurate ot even fake. Due to the fact that it is available for almost everyone, there may be put anything that they want without checking its validity. It can lead to misinformation among the people who have read them. Moreover, despite being useful for searching any information, people can easily be distracted because of the recommendations and adds, like video games or movies suggested by the internet. In the majority number of websites there are plenty of time-consuming advertisements that propose us to play the games.

In general, I believe that the upsides of the changing made by uploading knowledge from the books to the internet is overweighs its negative aspects.