In the past, lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students in a classroom. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach in teaching?

The use of modern technology has become a prevalent trend in education. It is believed that it has such benefits as encouraging the learners to study, whereas the significant drawback is the phenomenon of being addicted to the technical devices.

To begin with, the lessons which are conducted with the use of technologies can motivate students to acquire knowledge more easily. Looking at bright and diverting presentation slides can help to focus and remember the essential information. Moreover, the current topic can be explained with the use of a competitive online game or a part of a well-known movie that can be watched during the lesson. The Bamboozle platform can be provided as an example of modern technologies in the educational process. This platform assists in making quizzes and interpreting them as part of a competition with team division and score gathering.

On the other hand, the constant use of new technologies in education can cause severe addiction to the devices that are used, and the learners will not be able to participate in the traditional lesson as it is sometimes required. In addition, when playing online games as part of the educational process, the students get used to this way of learning and cannot receive information through any other approach. To illustrate this point of view, it can be mentioned that a variety of young learners cannot focus on ordinary lectures when they progress through the high stage of school to higher educational institutions. This is due to the fact that the learners were accustomed to including a great amount of modern technologies in their studying during the previous stages.

In conclusion, while the use of modern technology in studying has become a great tendency and has the positive side of motivating people to acquire more knowledge, nevertheless, it has the drawback of getting addicted to the devices and being unable to receive information through the traditional format of learning.