In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have the opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Education is one of the most prominent aspects of our lives. More learners are choosing to study abroad in recent years, rather than attending university in their home country, as was common in past decades. There is much debate over whether this is a positive or negative development. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the issue.

To begin with, I would like to highlight the benefits of enrolling in another country. In my opinion, learning internationally offers the opportunity to improve one’s knowledge of cultural diversity by meeting and forming new friendships with people from different backgrounds. This experience can help individuals broaden their perspectives and apply these new concepts when they return to their home country. Secondly, attending prestigious schools in developed countries can lead to better job offers. These individuals are likely to earn higher salaries and secure more prominent positions.

On the other hand, while there are many merits to overseas education, I also believe that there are demerits too. More people face loneliness, such as a lack of family support and psychological help. For example, some individuals may feel isolated in a new environment and distance themselves from others, which can lead to mental health issues such as depression and anxiety. Additionally, some may also face trouble with environmental changes, such as the change in climate. For instance, coming from a hot country like Ghana to a cold climate like Ireland requires a difficult adjustment, which can also lead to cold-related illness and a higher cost of living for heating and a change in wardrobe.

In conclusion, there are both significant advantages and disadvantages to pursuing education in a foreign country. International students should be given the maximum amount of help to make their stay comfortable and receive more family and personal support.