Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has significantly changed the way we live and work. It allows employees to do work from remote places. No doubt, this flexibility improves quality of our life and work. however, in my opinion, this trend has both the benefits and demerits.

To commence with, one of the predominant merits of working from home is the workers are able to manage balance between personal and professional life, they get opportunity to spend quality time with their loved ones. Remote working also benefited to the parents of very young children. Most women have to quit their job to take care of their child. If company allows them to do work from outside the work place, then they will join the workforce again. Moreover, this mobility has eliminated the commute time from office to residence. For example, it can be found in one study that employees spend on an average 2 hours daily on transportation. Finally, employers has also advantage of this method, they can save operational expenses such as office rents and utility bills.

Moving further, every coin has two side likewise remote working has its drawbacks too. The complacent attitude of individual while working away from the office is the key drawbacks which affects the deadlines and end result. People generally do work as per their convenience when they work remotely. To site in an example of, in the office, it is mandatory for employees to spend certain hours of working however, people spend less time on work at home. In addition to this, having a nice workplace where people can work together as a team member and communicate closely is more beneficial than working from outside.

In conclusion, although, complacent attitude towards job is the key disadvantages of working remotely, the better work life balance for the employees and the low operation cost for the employers are the major advantages, which cannot be ignored.