Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of technology, many individuals can work from anywhere. This progress is believed to have numerous advantages for employees, however, there are some negative aspects of working from long distance. I agree with the view that working outside the workplace makes people’s lives more convenient and advantageous.

Working from long distances can be considered negative for several reasons. The strongest argument is that working outside the office makes people need to be self-disciplined and manage their timetable carefully, or they will be unable to finish their work in time. However, it is not so easy for everyone to constrain themselves properly, so the working efficiency might be decreased due to this mobility. Moreover, some companies also worry that some vital data will be leaked because of employees that are allowed to work outside.

However, I suppose working from long distances creates an ideal working environment for workers. Firstly, the commuters don’t/do not need to stand for the annoying commute, being able to save several hours of their precious time. Particularly, without face-to-face communication in the discussion, it is still approachable to meet customers’ or managers’ requirements because of the technology. Moreover, flexibility is also a prominent benefit of working long distances. With this mobility, people can decide when to work flexibly and reschedule easily when they face an emergency, instead of taking leaves with several complicated processes when they are in the office.

To sum up, although working outside has some disadvantages, I strongly believe that this improvement in technology influences people’s lives significantly with its flexibility and convenience.