Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Mobile technology has become an integral part of our lives, and the existence of mobile phones, laptops and iPads has altered the way many people work. While there are distinct advantages to this, it is important to guard against over use and possible detrimental effects on health and relationships.

One of the biggest benefits of mobile technology is that people no longer have to work in an office. In fact, many businesses now permit their staff to work from home on some days of the week. This Is particularly helpful for busy parents; it can reduce stress levels and help people manage their daily lives better.

Another benefit for many people and businesses is that work can continue outside the office. Phone calls can be made almost anywhere and documents can be read or written on public transport or in cafes. This is extremely beneficial for people who have long trips to work.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, care must be taken to ensure that the convenience of ‘teleworking’ does not lead to more hours on the lob and less time spent doing exercise or being with friends and family. No one would deny that it is wonderful to be able to work from home, but a person who spends too much time on their computer may find that their health suffers in the long run.

On the whole, most people profit from the use of mobile technology, and there are obvious advantages to its use. However, we need to keep an eye on how much we rely on this resource, otherwise the disadvantages will be greater for everyone.