Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the advancement of technologies makes various job don’t required workers to working in workplace anymore, they can work at home or work while travelling. It is become a popular trend of welfare that gets attention from many people who want to work from home or work from anywhere. In this essay will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of work from home and will compare which one is outweigh.

Work from home (WFH) has many advantages, I will show the primary one. First, WFH makes people manage their time effectively. Normally, company working hours is 8:00 am. to 17:00 pm. If people lived far away from their office they need to prepare a huge of time to travel. Therefore, if they able to work outside they can use the time that wasted on traveling in rush hours. For example, one hour before clock-in time they can do exercise or eat breakfast, instead of stuck on the road with massive of people. Moreover, the problem of traffic congestion that we experienced everyday will decline, because people don’t need to travel and hurry to go to workplace and back home after worked. Therefore, the amount of people who leave their home at the same times will decrease.

Many people feel more comfortable and relaxed when they’re working at home, it is another benefit. People can do whatever they want at home because they don’t need to keep silence and can do things that generally you cannot do if work in office. This makes us relaxed and have less stressed. For instance, some people used to listen music along working, it makes them more concentrate. However, this cannot happen if you stay in office because there are many people work and need silence to concentrate with their job. This situation lead to stress and mental health problems.

On the other hand, work from home makes relationships of colleagues worsen. It is the truth that strong relationships come from good communication. However, if we used email or other applications such as Microsoft Teams, or Slack it cannot replaced the real communication that we talk in face to face. It is because online communicating cannot show the expression of listeners or speakers, and we communicate less if we WFH.

In conclusion, even work from home has disadvantage that is it reduce the relationship between employees, but I believe that the advantages of this mobility is outweigh the drawbacks such as effective time management, reduce work tension, and decrease of traffic congestion.