Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Home working has become possible due to information technology. It helps employees save time and money; however, their work is not as effective as offline working. Therefore, I strongly believe that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.

First of all, a major benefit is convenience for workers. Because employees are unessential to go to the office, instead they can stay at home and finish their work. They do not have to wake up early and prepare for many hours; just turn on a screen and work remotely. For example, you can both travel around the world and wind up important tasks. Besides, workers do not have to pay for fuel and food, and employers can avoid electricity costs.

However, it also has various disadvantages, such as Internet problems. So, employees are not able to finish their work on time because of poor Internet access in some areas. Moreover, there is less productivity among workers. To specify, while you spend most time working at home, you become less responsible because of the lack of supervision from seniors. For instance, a survey report describes that a company that has workers go to the office every day makes more remarkable profits than others which have remote working.

In conclusion, it cannot be denied that working from outside the company’s areas decreases productivity; however, it helps us save time and money. Hence, it is possible that working from home will become more and more popular because of its benefits.