It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

How important having squares and parks for cities? Plenty of city engineers ask this question every day. After all for squares needed space where could be built shopping mall or entertainment center. So why city need parks? In that essay, I will consider what they are for.

First – parks make citizens life more wonderful, more colorful, and gives out opportunities for additional activities like picnic or just hanging out with friends. Second it make friendly atmosphere with a positive ecosystem that improves not only city biodiversity, but also the whole region. Also statistically, nice green squares can lower crime rate, and make streets of city safer. But in another hand if we build shopping mall we can boost city economy and add workplaces, that also improves overall life quality. In addition to my last words shopping center more friendly for teens who is the main force in opinion making of the city (that also give you few points as a city engineers if you make your mall what the teenagers wants it to be, and make it interesting for them)

So in my opinion it’s more important to build ecology clear parks than urban shopping mall, now we have enormous numbers of all kind malls: a Costco every few steps, an extremely large Walmart and other malls, but there’s just not enough the peaceful land of happiness that called parks, with ordinary ducks and common fish. We should be build more parks and squares, make our city, our home more friendly, instead of running after profit.