It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some agrue, the benefits of open leisure spaces like squares and parks. They state that, it fosters a sense of community and encourage physical activities among the citizens. while, some highlight drawbacks like the huge financial burden it poses and the potential waste of land resources. Personally, I agree with the former position. This essay explores both perspectives of the discussion.

On the one hand, parks and squares form an important part of a community, It provides a common location for individuals to meet, socialise and form stronger inter-personal relationships. It encourages a sense of community and mutual respect amongst residents of the area. For instance, individuals with dogs in an area, who routinely work their pets are likely to engage in conversation, sharing possible problems and offer solutions. Furthermore, they offer areas for physcial activities such as walking, jogging, cycling and running. These activities are known to decrease health issues sure as hypertension, diabetes and obesity.

On the other hand, critics highlight the drawbacks of this designated areas such as the significant financial burdens it poses to the local governments. They discuss, the expenses incurred to maintain the environment and facility, pest control and offer security. It is believed, the money would be best spend to improve roads,bprovide more affordable housing. For example, an area with a high amount of homeless persons would benefit from cheaper accommodation than a park.

In my opinion, the benefits of designated leisure areas such as parks overweigh the drawbacks. A strong community engagement could provide solutions to some of the issues around parkd ans squares. In conclusion, the decision to have such areas in towns or cities are unique needs of these locations.