It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Many individuals have faced, at least once in their life, a doubt whether or not to take risks in their professional and personal lives. Despite having to gamble their sense of stability, I firmly believe that the advantages that come with taking risks, namely living life to the fullest, far outweigh the disadvantages.

What people are afraid of in taking risks is becoming unstable or even worse than their previous living condition as the consequence of the possible downfall. Losing a big amount of investment in a career project or getting heartbroken after choosing to jump into a relationship, for example, can result in an enormous economical, physical, and emotional toll. However, what needs to be understood is that these failures are a normal part of the growth as human beings. If individuals constantly seek for safety and stability, they will lose their chance to learn from their negative experiences and use them as a weapon to reach a more fulfilling life.

Conversely, individuals who are brave to take risks tend to find more meaning in the life that they pursue. Acknowledging risks of failure and taking it anyway encourages them to prepare more intentional strategies and be emotionally stronger in accepting, then rising from their downfalls. For instance, a student who takes risks to participate in an international scholarship program has more chances to create a successful life. This is because if they pass, they will go abroad and experience a brand new culture to learn from. Even if they don’t, they will still get advantages from the preparation process, such as their IELTS score test result, organization experiences, and various portfolios that would assist them in appearing employable and qualified in front of jobseekers. Consequently, taking risks provides one with rich and fulfilling experiences from which positive long-term impacts can be gained.

In conclusion, taking risks is worth the turbulence that might come as its advantages substantially outweigh the downfalls. Those who are courageous enough to face their fear of the risks will even be more trained to anticipate and resolve the possible disadvantages that follow.