It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking risks both in professional and personal lives is quite substantial for people and leads to various pros and cons. From where I stand, the numerous pros outweigh the cons by and large due to the reasons discussed in this essay.

First of all, we are taking risks every day by the simple decisions we make, so if these risks came with a great deal of disadvantages, our lives would be so much harder. However, that is simply not the case. For instance, we are taking a risk by choosing not to wake up earlier every morning or by taking the last bus on our way to work. In addition, not only is taking risks a natural part of our lives, it also boosts our confidence and leads to many positive psychological outcomes. By way of example, someone who takes risks and deals with the consequences knows they are capable of making hard decisions and taking even bigger risks in the future. Furthermore, if we don’t take risks, we may never achieve our biggest goals and dreams.

By contrast, being a risk taker person also comes with a number of disadvantages. If we live our lives by always risking different important aspects of it, the future may look very grim and uncertain. This can lead to a never-ending vicious cycle of anxiety and greatly affect our mental health. Moreover, we can’t predict whether these decisions will lead to positive or negative outcomes and we may be unfortunate enough to always end up losing in this gamble. Consequently, this fear of the unknown results and the failure that can often follow taking big risks, lowers the quality of our lives. However, when we compare these cons to the unlimited pros of being a risk taker, they fade in comparison.

To conclude, it is crucial for people to take risks in a professional and personal setting. These risks come with a considerable number of advantages that outweigh the disadvantages in my opinion as I have further explained in this essay.