It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought by several people that taking risks in both professional life and personal life plays a pivotal role in an individual’s life. Some of the effects are extremely rewarding while the others are not so rewarding, rather they are devastating, which can possibly ruin their lives including their loved ones’.

To begin with, taking risks has several advantages. It teaches people to improve their problem-solving skills and explore the unexplored options, which allows them to gain experience and knowledge, which is quite essential to perform well at their workplaces and, therefore, have outstanding growth in their careers. For instance, if Neil Armstrong had not risked his life, then possibly he would not have been the first man to walk on the moon, or if Milton S. Hershey had not given up after his first failed attempt to be a chocolatier and not taken the risk to get back on his feet to achieve his dreams, then possibly he would not have had been the founder of the largest and most famous chocolate company in the world.

In contrast, there are also innumerable drawbacks to taking risks for one’s career. The major reason for this is that when people are taking risks, particularly in business, then they are not the only ones at stake, because the reckless choices also affect their customers, co-workers and other shareholders. This can lead to severe problems, to the point where they can even get arrested. Consequently, taking risks is not always the best option when it comes to one’s personal life, as this can ruin their relationships with their friends and families, by causing misunderstandings between them. Again, some people argue that it sometimes works out just fine, but that is not always the case. There is a possibility that only about 1 in 10000 cases work out, so it is not very wise to take risks in our personal lives.

To conclude, there may be several advantages to taking risks, but the disadvantages will always outweigh the advantages in this case.