It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a debated topic whether people should take risks in different aspects of their lives. Although it has advantages such as arising new opportunities or growing as a person, it has its downsides: experiencing setbacks in the professional part of life and losing great relationships due to drop in reputation. This essay will cover them in further detail.

First, taking risks opens doors for some leading to job promotion or a salary raise in terms of profession. Some companies believe innovation and changing things up can benefit business, hence when workers, especially marketing managers, come up with intelligent ideas, bosses give it a try in hopes of successful revenue. This is a famous method used by engineers. Secondly, being risky when it comes to personal life, can develop a person in terms of resilience nullifying them to commonly unpleasant experiences, technically insinuating exposure therapy. Individual with social anxiety and fear of public speaking eventually stops being scared with repetition.

However, it is not fail-proof; thus, major setbacks can occur after making risky decisions. Opposing the first advantage, financial stability and job security is under threat due to lapse in judgement. In addition, personal connections are at a gamble. For instance, proposing in the early stages of a relationship can negatively impact the bond between the two individuals leading to failure.

To conclude, while taking risks in personal and professional lives is pivotal for advancements, it has its pros and cons. The upsides are the arising opportunities and the personal upgrades such as improved patience that comes with it. On the other hand, the disadvantages are significant loss in job security, relationship, and reputation.