It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Taking risks in life is very necessary, whether it be in professional life or personal life. Although it comes with some drawbacks, still it has more benefits over the countering drawbacks.

Taking risks can lead to traumatic events which might haunt a person for whole life or for a long part of life. I remember a friend who was victim of such risks. He had been working for over 6 years and he was almost ready to fly overseas to the USA for his postgraduate course. He had cleared all the test rounds and met all conditions provided by the university. After which he submitted his resignation letter at the company he worked at. But unfortunately, his visa was rejected just a week before his departure. It was a risk he took for better future, but ended up without a job and a course for the season.

On the other hand, it is the same risk which many personals take in their life. Complete their postgraduate course, get work permit at the overseas country and continue with their life as planned. In fact, the same friend who was rejected by the USA, is now at the UK doing his dream postgraduate course in a more reputed university than the one at the USA. This doesn’t mean that a person takes a risk blindly without a plan. One must plan and work hard to get to their dreams. Same goes with personal life decisions as well. If one is holding back themselves from a change due a history of trauma, they will be stuck at the same place until they make a move.

Overall, taking risks has it’s fallback but these risks, moving out of your comfort zone will lead you to reach heights which you might not have imagined.