It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is possible for people to make decisions or actions that put them outside their safe zone in their daily life or even in their occupation. Wondering outside the safe zone which also known as risk taking, would provide opportunities some for fortune, or provide consequences which leads to misfortunes. In my opinion, there are to kind of risks, calculated risks or uncalculated risks, the former is worth considering, but the letter is better to be avoided.

Risky actions would be led to a better situation in one’s personal life or even in his or her professional life. A risky decision is not an unsafe choice if its chance of succeeding and its possible outcomes well-predicted. In the case of investment on a start-up business which is a common practice nowadays, one by being enough educated and aware of financial situation, might practically calculates the risk of investment and then the logic can come to play and determine where a risk is worth taking or not. This calculated risks, if they have a significant chance to thrive, will pay off eventually, and they might be a game changer in an individual life.

However, risks could just be another form of gambling if their possible poor outcomes are overlooked. As many times might be seen, by uncalculating or miscalculating the risk of an action, one might encounter with serious drawbacks. Take the poker game as an example. One could see a great potential of earning money in the game. But the game has uncalculated risk and one ruin his life by addicting to the game.

In conclusion, I believe the advantage of calculated risk outweigh the disadvantages, but for the risk in all it is not the case.