It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Taking risks in both professional and personal lives is crucial for people. If you don’t take risks, you are taking the risk of not progressing faster in life. Taking risks will get what you want especially when your preparation is adequate for future opportunities. So I would argue that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

The disadvantage of not taking risks is losing the opportunity to get ahead. For example, if you knew about Bitcoin but didn’t dare to invest in it during its conception phase, you are probably asking yourself, “Why didn’t buy it?” or “How did I let myself pass on that opportunity?” To stop the fear of risk holding you back in life, you must prepare adequately. When preparation meets opportunity, the risks are significantly reduced. With the Bitcoin example, if you had prepared to buy it with enough research on its future viability, you would have been confident in buying it and felt less risky while doing so.

The advantage of taking risks will be getting what you want. A majority of people agree that when you change your company after every 2 years, your salary at the end will be significantly higher than if you hadn’t switched. This is backed by a study. You could have learned something by staying in your current company but by taking a risk to venture out in a new company, it paid off.

In conclusion, I think that not taking risks will keep you behind in life while taking risks can give you a positive edge. So for me, the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages of taking risks as long as your preparation is good enough when the opportunity shows itself.