It is increasingly common to develop underground mining to extract natural resources, despite potential environmental and safety risks. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Underground mining has developed, nowadays, and it is commonly used to extract natural resources. Despite some potential environmental and safety risks, some advantages might also result from it. However, I personally believe that subsurface mining would lead to more significant disadvantages, which I will discuss in my essay.

Perhaps, it seems to me that one major drawback is the high cost of development technology for workers’ safety. This is because technology development has become the main support to improve safety work in underground mining, where many miners are directly exposed to extreme risks, such as rockfall, high temperature, and poisonous gas. Hence, the implementation of advanced technology, which is extremely expensive, is expected to reduce these risks. Moreover, this practice has affected the environment, including soil degradation and water pollution. For instance, the adoption of subsurface mining in Papua, Indonesia, has depleted clean water resources and caused land subsidence. Finally, environmental impact also influences social activity among local citizens, as they have limited access to clean water.

As for the benefits, it is possibly reducing surface disturbance, as subsurface mining does not excavate on the earth’s surface, in contrast to open-pit mining. Consequently, it can mitigate the destruction of habitat above-ground. Another advantage is less waste production. For example, the large mining companies around the world have utilized waste material, such as tailings and waste rock, to rehabilitate the site of mining activity. So that it can minimize ecological impact.

In conclusion, although subsurface mining can generate certain positive effects, such as reducing surface disturbance and waste production. On the other hand, I believe that the negative effects are likely to outweigh the advantages to some extent. This includes the high cost of development technology, environmental and social impact.