Large companies use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, it is becoming increasingly popular among many big companies to use sporting events as an effective marketing tool. However, some individuals assume that this way of marketing can have a detrimental effect on sports as well as players. While I acknowledge some potential drawbacks of various ads at sporting events, it can be extremely beneficial for both sports and players, especially in terms of popularity and finance.

On the one hand, one obvious disadvantage of commercials in the sporting world is distraction from the game. Placing too many advertisements everywhere, including on the jerseys of players can take the attention of the audience rather than enjoying the event. A case in point is the FIFA world cup event, where the stadium often teemed with different commercials since most people watch these kinds of important matches. In such cases, companies take advantage of the enormous global audience to maximize brand awareness by putting a lot of billboards around the stadium. This will eventually lead viewers to lose their interest in sporting events due to excessive advertising.

Having said that, sponsorship by large companies could result in several advantages. The main benefit is that they can provide a sports industry with enough financial support. By advertising different products, the sports field can improve the quality of stadiums, allowing young athletes to receive necessary equipment, coaching and travel expenses. This creates an opportunity for players to compete internationally with enough financial help.

Furthermore, well-known companies can encourage athletes with monetary rewards which consequently results in better sporting performances. For example, companies such as Adidas and Nike invest millions of dollars in international competitions which enables organizers to offer larger prize funds, and host world-class events that introduce athletes to a wider audience. In this way, competitors strive for success and become more motivated to perform better and win.

In conclusion, although it might divert attention from the audience to place an advert around the stadium and even on athlete’s jerseys, the benefits of sponsorship outweigh the drawbacks by providing professional sport with superior sporting facilities and sufficient funding.