Large shopping malls are replacing small local shops in many cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this change?

The trend of the replacement of small shops with large shopping malls is gaining traction in the contemporary world. While it yields notable positives for buyers, it also poses significant challenges for small-scale retailers, leading to inflation and economic downturn of the country. This essay will elucidate the merits of this phenomenon, as well as explore pitfalls regarding it.

One of the most significant merits of this trends lies in its ability to facilitate consumers activities, containing restaurants, cinemas, products and clothing stores; thus, eliminating the need to visit all types of stores to fit in consumer requirements. Another compelling argument in favour of this development is has the potential to increase the reputation of the country in the global market, enticing visitors from all over the world, combating unemployment issues and adding a new color to the landscape of the city.

Nevertheless, several drawbacks surrounding this topic warrants consideration, the explosion of shopping complexes hinders the development of local commercial outlets, ultimately resulting in the situation that small retailers find it challenging to stay afloat. Another shortcoming worth mentioning is the accelerating of traffic congestion and enhancing parking problems, as people have to go long distances to fill their personal need. The omnipresence of big malls offers a chance to be able to afford anything they desire.

In conclusion, from an individual’s viewpoint the replacement of small shops with large shopping malls may seem to be a sign of convenience, due to its facilitating abilities. It is also important to acknowledge that this phenomenon has adverse effects,including the decline of small local businesses, which are often unable to compete with large retail chains.