Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

To begin with, studying English at school is commonly assumed critical instead of local languages. As we know, nowadays English has become international language spoken by people all over the world. However, the capacity of English language taught at school is supposed to be balanced with local language as they are both important.

English is learnt at school to equip students with the outworld necessity in the future. All sectors are commonly using English as a tool of communication by no means to neglect the importance of local language. For example, in technology, the features of smartphone apply English so that the user is able to use it. Another is the computer. All instructions are provided in English. This is one of reasons why English is substantial to teach at school.

Meanwhile, we should have never forgot the existence of local languages. They are present to showcase our identity. Local languages are parts of culture which should be preserved and must be passed down to our generation. There are some strategies to ensure the survival of local languages. First, local languages should be taught at school and be involved in educational curriculum. This curriculum is helpful to maintain the sustainability of local language as a cultural heritage. Moreover, local languages are supposed to be taught by parents at home. Parents as a mediator are expected to bring local languages into the family realm so that it might lead a good introduction to children. Children need to learn what culture is. Therefore, consistency and cooperation among parents are necessary.