Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In today’s world, it can be often seen that people are giving more importance to English while leaving their native tongue behind. Even in schools learning English is considered more significant than learning local languages. This essay will elucidate the reasons behind this issue and will also offer solutions.

On the one hand, English is often considered to be essential because it is considered to be one of the global languages of business, science, trade, and commerce. It is given immense importance in schools because it is one of the official languages of communication. English opens doors by giving more access to information as well as knowledge. For instance, in most universities, the language of instruction is English and thus it becomes mandatory to demonstrate proficiency in it if a student seeks admission.

In addition, the inability to communicate in English can limit one’s access to job opportunities as well as restrict academic journey.

On the other hand, due to the growing relevance of English, local languages are suffering and slowly falling back. Firstly, local languages should be made compulsory in primary schools so that children will be able to learn about their cultural heritage from the very beginning. In this way, the regional languages can be preserved, and the individuality of such languages will not be lost. Secondly, various campaigns and awareness fairs should be organized to promote the use of local languages.

In conclusion, in this modern era, it is crucial to learn English, however, people should not forget their roots and maintain the use of local languages.