Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

English is a gateway to the world and no one should be deprived of the opportunities that

arise for those with a strong command of the English language. This does not mean that

local languages are dispensable, however. They have an important role to play in

supporting education, including English language education.

People who insist on prioritising local languages are often those who can speak fluent

English themselves. Advocates of minority languages need to be fluent in English in

order to research their field and support the cause at international conferences. In doing

so, however, they are also demonstrating why English is so important. Learning English

allows people to gain knowledge, communicate with society, further themselves as

individuals and have a global impact. It is unfair to willingly dispossess people of this

ability in order to preserve tradition.

But this does not mean local languages can be forgotten or downplayed. People are more

likely to succeed – not just at learning English, but in employment and education

generally – if they are immersed in a community rich in history and tradition. Local

dialects are a part of this tradition. Efforts to regenerate and celebrate indigenous cultures

in recent decades have demonstrated that the preservation of local languages and the

teaching of English are mutually-reinforcing developments. In this way, the local

language serves as the bedrock for learning English, rather than being an obstacle in need

of removal.

I think it is important for everyone to learn English but I feel it is unnecessary to frame

learning English and keeping local languages alive as conflicting possibilities. Each goal

supports the other. We should focus on how best to develop both English and local

languages in particular local contexts.