Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

It is often argued that learning english held more significance than learning native language within education institutions, otherwise there is a fear of missing out. As English is one of the most recognised languages in the world, one should have basic knowledge of it. However, it depends upon the people they belong to. Nevertheless, local language should not be discarded completely. There is perhaps one main way to preserve its existence.

One of the reasons, everyone should have basic knowledge of english because it is a worldwide spoken language. But the importance of this language for the person depends. For example, if someone wants to pursue their career in the US, they should have fluent English to make their life better, whereas one can possess basic knowledge , if they have a traveling purpose only.

Local language depicts the culture, tradition and history of the community , so it held utter importance. In order to ensure its survival, they should be made compulsory in the school curriculum. For instance, Gurung community people belong to the districts of Himalayan regions mostly western regions. So to preserve language, schools in those regions should make it mandatory to teach the Gurung language to their students.

To conclude, English is a widely spoken language, so one should have at least basic knowledge. However, local language shouldn’t be ignored. So they should be added in the school curriculum for the sake of its preservation.